Honda’s ‘Honda Nepal Dream Cup’

Kathmandu, March 11: Honda Nepal has organized Nepal’s first Motorcycle Racing Championship ‘Honda Nepal Dream Cup 2019’ with an aim to reduce road accidents by creating a safe platform for riders to test their skills and machines.

This championship was run under the International Sporting Code of the Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM), Nepal Automobile Sports Association (NASA), Nepal Motorcycle Federation (NMF) and the HNDC Supplementary Regulations 2019 and based on MotoGP & WSBK Racing Format, with points being given to riders based on their race position. The rider who collected the maximum number of points was awarded the championship title. The champion was divided into two categories; Honda 250cc category (CBR 250R) and Honda 148-165cc category (XR 150L, CB Hornet 160R, X-Blade 160 & CB Unicorn 160). The two categories had three rounds each.

Round Date Course
1 28th & 29th December SSRTC
2 8th & 9thFeb SSRTC
3 8th & 9thMarch SSRTC

*SSRTC –Syakar Safety Riding Training Center

While the final round had a total of 29 participants, the first and second round had a total of 37 and 41 participants respectively. More than 900 spectators attended the three events.

In the Final Race organized on 8th and 9th March, Ujen Batajoo set the fastest lap record in the CBR 250R category and Raj Kumar Karki took pole position with the fastest lap time in 148-165cc Category.

On the Final Race day, Ujen Batajoo got the 1st position, Ram Bikram Thapa came 2nd and Bibesh Shrestha got the 3rd position. Bibesh Shrestha collected a total of 58 points from the 3 races and was declared the champion of Honda Nepal Dream Cup Season 1. Along with him, Ashik Lama secured second position in the championship with 37 points. Bibesh Shrestha and Ashik Lama will be representing Nepal in Honda India Dream Cup.

In a tough battle between the three riders under the 148-165cc category, Raj Kumar Karki got the 1st position, Sujay Gopali came 2nd and Laxman Bikram Thapa got the 3rd position. Raj Kumar Karki was declared the Championship Winner of 148-165cc category with a total of 50 points.

This Final Round was the concluding race of Honda Nepal Dream Cup, Season 1.

All the riders gave a good response to the event, and thanked Honda for conducting such an event which maintains speed on the track and not on public roads.